Office 2003 not installing on Parallels MBP

Reaction score
Hey guys,
I'm having an issue here. I'm a long time lurker whenever I have a question but I couldnt find any help in the search bar so here I am.

I installed parallels and it runs fine, I've installed stuff like firefox and other little things but now I'm trying to install office 2003. Im a student at Clemson down in the good old south and while we will be supporting macs a lot more next year we don't get much help here.

I have a class that needs the windows version of Office so thats why I'm installing it. Everytime I try to install it it starts off fine but then you can hear the disk drive start to slow down and eventually stop. Then it locks up for a couple of minutes and then will give me an error message. I have no idea why but does anyone here have any ideas?

I have already updated windows thinking maybe that could be the issue but it didnt improve anything. It's happened about 5 times in a row now so I know it wasnt just a fluke. Let me know what you guys think!!

MAtt

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MBP| 2.33 15" |2 Gig|320 GiG 7200 rpm |256 MB X1600
Strange

Not sure whats up man as I havce sucessfully installed in on my MPB . But I dont know anyting about paralell as I have mine dual booting with Bootcamp

So i I were to guess I would have it has something to do with paralell. Correct me if I am wrong paralell runs within mac osx ? you do not have to boot up in windows ? Might be the difference and if you really need to have it I would try bootcamp.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MBP CD 1.83/2ghz/7200 100g + Mini 2ghz C2D 2gb + Mini 1.42ghz G4 + PM 7200/120 + Newton OMP
This probably won't make any difference, but one thing you could try is to create a disk image of the Office 2003 CD/DVD using Disk Utility, then in Parallels, select that image under Devices->CD. Try installing using that image instead of the physical device.