Just ordered a macbook pro.. so exciting!!

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15.4" macbook pro core 2 duo, 2.16ghz, 2gb ram, 160gb hdd. iPod nano 8gb. iPod Photo 20gb.
Hey all,

So I've been thinking about buying a mac since 2005. I was actually going to but bought a dell instead. Big mistake. So yesterday I took the plunge and ordered a 15.4" MBP, with 160GB HDD, 2GB RAM and a glossy screen. I'm a student so I got the discount, plus a cool case, mac office student edition and a new ipod nano 8gb.. Cost me an absolute arm and a leg. (Although i can get a further rebate on the ipod and mac office).

I've been holding off my purchase just in case of an upgrade, but I start university on feb 19 and need it before i move so I had to take the plunge yesterday. I was actually going to get a macbook, but decided not to at the last minute.. it just seemed too small. I dunno, call me crazy. So anyway, a couple of questions,

1. Having never, ever used, or even seen a MAC in person, any recommendations on what I should be reading or whatever before it arrives? Obviously I'm not going to know the first thing about it (even though i'm a bit of a whiz on the pc). Haha. I'm a little worried actually, although I have read the "switchers guide to OSX" which was really helpful and i picked out some software I'm going to download.

2. If OSX 10.5 gets released in say, a months time, would I get the upgrade for free? Or is it sorta like, bad luck. 'Cos I'm a 17 year old student who just forked out close to AU$4000, I can't afford to upgrade for about 6 or 12 months.

Cheers.
*eagerly awaiting my new macbook pro*

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15in i7 MacBook Pro, 8GB RAM, 120GB SSD, 500GB HD
I think if you buy within 30 before the release, you can get the upgrade cheaper. I'd recommend The Missing Manual for Tiger as a good read and will help with the transition. Its in depth, and very well written.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs