American purchased iPhone - Use in Asia before '08?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
iMac 2.16Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo, iPod Mini, iPod Nano
The iPhone is said to be available in Asia in the fourth quarter of 2008, or at least in the year 2008. Personally, I don't think I can wait nearly 2 years for a phone, and since I have relatives in the States, I figured I could ask them to purchase one there, and perhaps mail it back to Hong Kong, or even personally bring it back.

Will that be possible, in terms of whether or not the phone will still function as normal?

I'm no expert. From experience, this could be done, but from several sources on the Internet, it cannot be. Anyone out there who can solve my question, with slightly less technical terms?

Thanks a bunch.

PS. I apologise if other threads somehow answers this question; I've searched but am fairly sure they don't exactly.

Reaction score
From what I have heard the phones will be locked to the Cingular/ATT network they will not be sim lock free. Lets hope they also release a sim lock free version as it would be a pity if they didn't.

???

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MBP 2.0Ghz
The iPhone is said to be available in Asia in the fourth quarter of 2008, or at least in the year 2008. Personally, I don't think I can wait nearly 2 years for a phone, and since I have relatives in the States, I figured I could ask them to purchase one there, and perhaps mail it back to Hong Kong, or even personally bring it back.

Will that be possible, in terms of whether or not the phone will still function as normal?

I'm no expert. From experience, this could be done, but from several sources on the Internet, it cannot be. Anyone out there who can solve my question, with slightly less technical terms?

Thanks a bunch.

PS. I apologise if other threads somehow answers this question; I've searched but am fairly sure they don't exactly.