• Welcome to the Off-Topic/Schweb's Lounge

In addition to the Mac-Forums Community Guidelines, there are a few things you should pay attention to while in The Lounge.

Lounge Rules
    • If your post belongs in a different forum, please post it there.
    • While this area is for off-topic conversations, that doesn't mean that every conversation will be permitted. The moderators will, at their sole discretion, close or delete any threads which do not serve a beneficial purpose to the community.

Understand that while The Lounge is here as a place to relax and discuss random topics, that doesn't mean we will allow any topic. Topics which are inflammatory, hurtful, or otherwise clash with our Mac-Forums Community Guidelines will be removed.

Vista rant ... sooooo glad I'm a long time switcher!

Reaction score
The home of the free and the land that did for Bra
Your Mac's Specs
24"iMac, 15"MB-Pro, MacBook, G4 iMac, PM G5 2x2Ghz, G4 iBook & Some PCs
Firstly, I'm a PC builder, have been for many years, but not big time. i.e I usually only do it to order for friends and family (apart from a brief dalliance with mobile, car and boat, computers).

Secondly, my personal choice of OS is OS X follower by Ubuntu as a close second. My MacBook has dual boot OSX and XP (using the BootCamp Beta) AND Parallels with XP and two Linux Distros installed, so I do know a thing or two about installing OSs.

Today as a favour to a friend I offered to upgrade their PC to the 21st century, so one new motherboard (a 939 AMD mini ATX card), one new PSU and some RAM I had knocking around later I was ready to install a version of Windoze. It just so happened that the already installed XP-Pro OS was of dubious origin (a "friend" of hers had installed it some time ago, no discs, no activation code etc) and the activation code sticky (for XP-Home version) on the machine was useless as there was no OS Install disc for it.