Model updates for Macs

Reaction score
Someone should know this!!

Been thinking about getting a macbook on the cheap whilst i'm still a student and doing that sad 'add to my basket' thing on apple store for my dream set up. I know, it's sad.

Anyway

They've had the same spec for a while now with the macbooks and it would annoy the **** out of me if they changed the spec soon after i bought one

Anyone know how often they change the memory setup- i don't want to buy one only for them to upgrade it

any ideas out there??

???

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MBP 2.0Ghz
Well they upgrade the specs in October ish, so I doubt it.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15" Powerbook G4 • 24" iMac • iPhone 3Gs
No one knows.

Is the machine going to be good when you get it? Yes.

Is it going to be good even if something else comes out afterwards? Yes.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook
So they only update the line annually?
Can I hold you to that??
No, they don't... so you can't hold anyone to that. Apple updates their systems and products as they acquire or finalize their technology. This could be once, twice, three times a year... or not even at all in a year.
There is no way of telling when nor is there any reliable "historical" or schedule for their updating.

cwa107

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
14" MacBook Pro M1 Pro, 16GB RAM, 1TB SSD
No one knows.

Is the machine going to be good when you get it? Yes.

Is it going to be good even if something else comes out afterwards? Yes.

That's an excellent point and one I've made in other threads as well. If you're always waiting for the next update, you'll be waiting forever. Technology progresses at a furious rate. Keep in mind that the machine you bought will continue to do the things you bought it for long after it is superceded by a newer model.

Reaction score