External Hard Drive problems

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
G5 Powermac 2x1.8 Ghz, 80Gb internal HD, 1.25Gb ram
Hi guys, I am new to this type of thing so I hope you will bear with me.

I have a powermac G5 and external Maxtor 60Gb Firewire Hard Drive and am running Nortons utilities. On start up Nortons checks the external drive and on the last occasion it froze the mac before it finished the scan. On restarting the icon has disappeared from the desktop and I am unable to access the drive.

Any suggestions as to what might be the problem.

Regards

Dmac

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
G4 AGP 400 MHz 1.34gb RAM
While the computer is on, try to unplug and then plug in the external HD.

M

MacHeadCase

Welcome to Mac-Forums, David Mackay!

A word of advise: do not, I repeat, DO NOT use Norton Utilities on ANY Mac OS X volume or system. If you really want to mess up your Mac, that's one of the best ways to do it.

It worked well in the pre-OS X days but not anymore. About three years ago there even was a class-action lawsuit by Mac OS X users against Norton's. Norton's thrashes countless Mac OS X hard drives. They, of course, settled out of court.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Studio, M1 Max, 32 GB RAM, 2 TB SSD
Disable Norton and try again. If it doesn't show up on your desktop, check Disk Utility to see if anything shows up there. Do you know what format this disk is in? Presumably you have used it before, or is it a new add to your system?

OP
D
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Thanks for the advice. I have removed Nortons - any suggestions for a replacement???

Plugged and unplugged - no effect!

The HD has been used on OS9 and OSX so am assuming that it is properly formatted.
The device appears in the system profiler but when I check in the disk utility, neither my internal HD or the Maxtor are there. It seems that the utility bis freezing!!!!!!

Frustration is now setting in!!!

Any other suggestions - Thanks

OP
D
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs