Boot problem - Kernel Panic?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Macbook 2.1
(I don't know if this is posted in the right forum since I don't know if the issue is hardware or software related. If not, can moderator please move it the appropriate forum?)

First of all I am quite new to MACs. I received my first Macbook just before Christmas and have spend my time getting to know the Mac. I know my way around a PC quite well. Until now the MAcbook has behaved flawlessly except to some minor problems. I have reinstalled the OSX once since my purchase due to a boot camp install.

However, the problem started today when my Macbook froze while working on some Flash programming in OSX. I had parallels open. I had to perform a "push off button" reset since the MAC didn't respond to anything else.

Since then I haven't managed to boot OSX. I can, however, boot windows, but I have to be quick to change the options when windows asks me to open either "Parallels" or "WinXP" as if I have two WINXP. When I boot the former, It can not find a spesific hal.dll file and therefore not boot. I have never seen the "Parallels" option either when booting into XP before now.

When I try to to boot OSX I get a kernel panic window

kernel.jpg

I have tried the following.

- Deep hardware scan which resulted in no problems
- fsck scan and resulted in healthy disk (single user mode). When I type "exit" afterwards it froze after showing the Kernel version. I don¨t know if this is correct.

What really bothers me is that it won't even load the install disk, but it does with a hardware scan. Can anybody help me with this? I have read several threads out there on the issue, but failed to find a solution.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Pro
i got this when i first installed windows.
it happened twice on startup, but then stopped.
i cant remember what i did (if anything) to solve it, but if you havent already try resetting PRAM. cmd opt p r. (simultaneously)