AOL IM for Mac

Reaction score
Greetings,

I'm kind of new to Mac. In almost 1 year I've never experienced a problem with OS-X. (so smooth compared to my old PC!)

Yesterday I installed AOL IM and experienced my first issue. Backing up a little, I have been using iChat to 'text' the cell phones of my kids. Responses could only be received if I was online. This is why I tried the AOL program.

After installing AOL, everyones phone shows up as offline/unavailable in AOL. Same in iChat and Mail. I tried deleting AOL in Applications with no change.

Any idea what I need to do?

As it is I can't text anyones' phone since a message shows up saying they are offline. Not even my own phone sitting next to me which has a siignal!

Thanks,
George

It isn't until something goes wrong that I realize how little I really know!

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2.4 GHz intel core 2 duo MBP, iPhone 5, iPad 3
are the phones signed on to aol through the phone? if not this could be your issue.. I know on my cell that if its not signed one via the cell it will show offline on my computer under aim.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
27" iMac 2.7GHz Core i5, iPhone 6, iPad Air 2, 4th gen Apple TV
I cannot sign on to AOL IM in any way on my Mac as well. I've tried Adium and iChat but get nothing. I posted, but nobody responded.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15" Unibody MBP 2.4 Ghz C2D, 2 GB RAM, 250 GB HDD, 320 GB Time Machine HDD, 1 TB Ext Media Drive
He's not talking about instant messaging to the phones while they are online...he's talking about using AIM to send an SMS to the phone, which just requires that the phone be turned on.