Newbie here: Qs about Front Row, the system & app installation?

Reaction score
I have read several references to Front Row but have yet to use it. Is it the DVD player that comes up when you put in a DVD or something else. Sorry if this sounds obvious.

What is the equivalent of System where you can see things like ram, hard drive size and what is in use?

App installation: I know that I am supposed to drag the icon to the applications folder but which is the installation folder that I should delete later. I have ended up deleting the apps by accident. How can you tell?

Thanks

cwa107

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
14" MacBook Pro M1 Pro, 16GB RAM, 1TB SSD
I have read several references to Front Row but have yet to use it. Is it the DVD player that comes up when you put in a DVD or something else. Sorry if this sounds obvious.

What is the equivalent of System where you can see things like ram, hard drive size and what is in use?

App installation: I know that I am supposed to drag the icon to the applications folder but which is the installation folder that I should delete later. I have ended up deleting the apps by accident. How can you tell?

Thanks

1) Front Row is the menu that comes up when you hit the MENU button on your remote control.

2) Apple Menu -> About this Mac (or System Profiler in Utilities folder)

3) In some cases (they usually make it obvious), you usually drag the icon to your Applications folder. In other cases, you run an Installer program. You can delete the icon from your Applications folder, but that will not always remove all the supporting files (libraries, user profile settings, etc). The best way to completely remove an App that I've found is a little program called AppZapper (http://www.appzapper.com).

OP
E
Reaction score
Thank you so much.

I havent used the remote with the macbook, that's probaby why.

Reaction score