Num Lock Problems

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
24" IMAC ALU, 2.8GHZ, 4GB ram, 750gb HD, Leopard OSX.
HI,

APOLOGIES FIRST... I AM BRAND NEW TO THE MAC, 15 YEARS ON A PC... BUT I LOVE MY NEW IMAC.

BUT I HAVE A PROBLEM THAT BAFFLES ME.

THE SEPERATE NUMERIC KEYPAD HAS STOPPED WORKING IN MY NEW IMAC. WORSE STILL IT SEEMS TO FREEZE ALL MY OPEN APPS AND THE ONLY WAY I CAN UNFREEZE THEM IS TO USE FORCE QUIT,... SELECT AN APPLICTATION... THEN CHOOSE CANCEL IN FORCE QUIT AND THE SYSTEM STARTS RESPONDING AGAIN.

IN FACT I HAVE NO IDEA ON THE MAC KEYBOARD WHERE THE NUMLOCK KEY IS,... DO YOU ?

SEARCHED APPLES WEBSITE TO NO AVAIL.

ANYONE OUT THERE WHO CAN HELP?

THANKS... A MAC VIRGINhttp://www.mac-forums.com/forums/images/smilies/Terminator.png

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Pro 8x3.0ghz 12gb ram 8800GT , MBP 2.16 2GB Ram 17 inch.
There is no num lock key on a mac (but the caps lock is right where it is in pc's ;))

Did you install any software recently on your computer that may have interfered with your keyboard? Do you have another computer you can plug the keyboard in to as to test it?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Studio, M1 Max, 32 GB RAM, 2 TB SSD
Note that there is also no Insert key, which makes the usual Insert/Overwrite toggle function a bit of a challenge!

OP
S
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
There is no num lock key on a mac (but the caps lock is right where it is in pc's ;))

Did you install any software recently on your computer that may have interfered with your keyboard? Do you have another computer you can plug the keyboard in to as to test it?

Hello and Thanks for responding,

Yes... I installed some utilities from the MacFormat free CD. Maintenence and Macaroni. Would these interfere with the keyboard?

Also I am not sure if I installed a program called Freeze Frame that optimises the program that is foremost on the desktop. I don't know how to check on a Mac what programs have been installed recently,... or even how to remove them.....