Macbook Decision

Reaction score
Alright, I'm in the market for a notebook. I've set my sights and decided that I'm going to get the Black Macbook. Now just the time when I should buy it remains. Here are the details:

1) I don't need it until May of 2007.

2) My budget is around $1400. I'm a university student and can get the educational discount that brings the black macbook down to 1400.

3) I'm certainly in the mood for trying out OS X. This will be my first mac.

Now for the questions:

1) Like I said I can wait till my summer holidays begin in mid May of 2007. I know Leopard is scheduled for release sometime spring. I'm hoping I can get a macbook bundled with Leopard. Will that be possible?

2) I'd be happy to wait until may to buy the macbook if it means that the Santa Rosa refresh of macbooks will be out by then. Possible?

3) Are there any plans to bring the GMA X3000 to the macbook as a successor to the 950?

4) If there is at all a spring refresh of the macbook, will it bring about a change in design?

As a last question, I would like to know how competent the macbook's current GMA950 capabilities are. I don't do any video editing, photo editing at all, this laptop is going to be used for word, keynote and web browsing primarily. No gaming either.

OS X, from what I see, has an emphasis on the GUI and cool looking graphics. I'm hoping I can enjoy the mac experience on the integrated graphics card. Are all of the effects smooth on the GMA950? Will Leopard bring any visual improvements that will be laggy on the GMA950?

I have used a macbook pro running OS X and it seemed smooth as butter with graphics and transitions. Is that because of the 128MB X1600 in it or does the dedicated graphics not matter in the general OS X graphics?

Thank you and hope to learn more about my future purchase.
Cheers.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Pro M1 • iPhone 14 Pro • iPad Pro • iMac Retina 27"