switcher needs mac os help :( freeze etc etc

M

mtq1000

my G5 is great except that it freezes every so often. Ive had it about 3/4 weeks now im new to macs so i have a lot to learn. It just freezes i cant say anymore than that. If ive got itunes on it makes a funny (zzt) noise when it freezes. I thought if mac os was going to crash it didnt and closed down the program etc etc or maybe i didnt read the fine print lol. The most anoying thing is that my pal who has an iMac and a powerbook has said in 1.5 years of use he has only had to manually reboot his macs about 3 times in total. Ive had it 3 weeks and have rebooted about 33 times and rreformated 3/4 times (strange how tihng go in threes huh) anwyay. i was just wondering if there was any known issue with g5s that make them freeze the screeen etc with no noticable reason. Its calmed down lately but it still does it about once every 4 days or so when i realy dont want it too lol.
Ta

OP
W

WilliS

hmmm.....they had a firmware update with the G5...i would get that if i were you (if you didnt already)

also the control +alt + delete for mac is command + option + escape... if just a specific thing is freezing, this can keep your system from being locked up...

other than that... have you noticed specific times when it freezes? or while running certain things?

have you dont a complete reformat? like from bootup holding C with the start up disk in, and wiping the HD clean, repartitioning, then doing a fresh install?

what version of osx are you running?

OP
M

mtq1000

sorry i take so long