Sony DCR DVD405 w/ my MacBook

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook, Intel Core 2 Duo, 2 Ghz, 1 g memory
I'm new to Mac (2 weeks) and I bought my Mac for the follwing reasons ...

1. It's reputation for reliability and stability
2. It's reputation for superior handling of media files.
3. Safer environment in regards to virus infestation.
4. Ease of use (plug and play)
5. Freedom from Microsoft

However, I've found that although I like my MacBook and feel that I did my homework before I bought. There is one thing that slipped by me and that is the fact that I wouldn't be able to download my family videos from my Sony DCR DVD405 camcorder (no firewire). This is a huge disappointment and now I'm faced with investing in Windows plus parallels or Bootcamp.

Can someone confirm for me that there is no way to work with my videos unless I have a firewire?

eric

Retired Staff
Reaction score
are you sure it won't work with usb? it may just be a tad slower...

OP
P
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
According to what I've read, the MacBook won't recognize it. I tried the USB and couldn't get it to work.

rman

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
14in MacBook Pro M1 Max 32GB 2TB
I have not heard of any USB video cameras working with Apple products. The only thing I know you can do is get digital pictures of the camera. You will need a bridge of some type. All of the Apple application support firewire only.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
G4 933 quicksilver (2001) 1.5 gb ram, 300 gig hd. Macbok 2.0 duocore2 1 gb ram 13 inch white 120hd
just use boot camp and make your life easier. download it all on to the computer, burn it to dvd and then switch back to mac and use final cut to make ur movies. thats one way of doing things. i have a sharp digital vid cam and it reconizes it in mac tho i guess i lucked out haha.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Core 2 duo
i heard you just need an ilink cable, sony sells them to sync its cameras with mac

OP
P
Reaction score