Switching doubts...

Reaction score
Hi, I really hope someone can help me out... I'm thinking of switching for good, but I still have some doubts, specially because I'm a DBA and I use tools like Oracle, and I'd like to know if I can run my work tools on a Mac.
The one I'm about to buy is the MBP 15.4'' with C2D 2.33 and 2GB in Ram.

Do you think switching will have an impact on my professional life? What do you think? I do love them, altough it'll be my first, I've been in love with them for about 6 years, and I'm really exited, but what keeps me from buing it right now is that I'd like to dump all my other computers, and use my Mac for everything and I'm not sure if I can do it.

Please someone HELP ME!!!

Thanks!!

Reaction score
I'm not familiar with the software, but worst case scenario, you can run boot camp and run the windows version of the Oracle software and Mac OS X for everything else.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook
I think it is foolish for anyone to "switch" for "good". There is no reason why a person can't use both operating systems side by side. The idea of "switching" is really sort of restrictive and confining. Just use what the job calls for... if that is Windows, then so be it. If its Mac, no problem. Just use the right tool for the job.

Reaction score
D3,
I agree whole heartedly. I became a "switcher" and although I had some issues with Macbooks not working, I now LOVE my new macbook. But there are just too many programs not available, and so for that I have a desktop that is a Dell. Sure you can use bootcamp, but I dont want to bog this machine down.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
13" Macbook Pro 2.26Ghz Unibody 4G RAM 160G HDD Superdrive
I've been trying to get my employer to give me a Macbook for a year now. You should have no problems doing DBA stuff with an Intel Mac anymore even with all of the Oracle tools running on Windows. You can:

1. Dual boot Windows to run all the DBA GUI tools.