About to make the Switch!!! Should I go Str8 to the Apple Store/BestBuy/CircuitCity?

Reaction score
Hi Guys,

ive just about had it with my compaq presario laptop that ive had for almost 4 years now. i got it when i was a freshman in college and now i am a senior.

im ready to make the switch!

i hope someone can help me with my questions! :) cos i am looking to purchase asap

1.) first off whats the difference between ibook and the macbook? i went to the apple.com site and they only had macbooks?

im leaning toward the 13". with upgraded 2gb on the apple website...

2.) however i want to get the best deal possible? should i go ahead and buy it from the website or are there any deals at best buy or any other retailer that i should know about??
should i spend 250 bucks on the apple protection care plan?

3.) also lastly, do i have to spend the extra 50 bucks on the Apple USB modem connector thing?
bto_modemstep2.jpg

or can i still use my ugly old yellow ethernet cable that ive been using with my compaq laptop?

Thanks for ur help!!

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15" 2014 MacBook Pro, i7 2.5Ghz, 16GB RAM, 512GB SSD; iPad 3, iPhone 6
iBook is an older version of a Macbook - the MacBook has the new Intel CPU and iBooks had G4's or G3's. You'll be wanting a MacBook.

As to where to buy it... I think getting it from Apple is a little more romantic somehow, but if you want to upgrade the memory, don't buy from Apple, shop around.

The only thing to consider is Black or White. I suggest the DVD-R version with a 100gb or so HDD, whatever you choose.

OP
M
Reaction score
iBook is an older version of a Macbook - the MacBook has the new Intel CPU and iBooks had G4's or G3's. You'll be wanting a MacBook.

As to where to buy it... I think getting it from Apple is a little more romantic somehow, but if you want to upgrade the memory, don't buy from Apple, shop around.