Older Pro vs. New Macbook

S

simon_nz

At the risk of being yet a another misinformed newbie, I'm after a bit of advice.

After getting three years worth of use out of my 12" powerbook its finally time to move on. I was happily looking at getting the new macbook with the intel 2 processor. However, i've now discovered some ex-demo first generation macbook pros, which are for sale at the same price.

To my knowledge the specs are very similar. So it comes down to faster processor vs. better graphics card and bigger screen.

I'm a designer by trade, so it'll be used for, photoshop, indesign, a bit of final cut, and wee titbit of audio.

Any help would be much appreciated. (and apologys if this has already been discussed)

Thanks, Simon - New Zealand
:)

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
iMac Core Duo 17'' 1.83 ghz 512 mb ram
Well adobe has their software written in ppc code so it will be slower on a intel machine. If you need to do all that i would wait a little longer untill adobe releases in universal code but thats just me.

Reaction score
On my Core Duo MAC, Adobe software works like on PC with Pentium 2, wery wery slow

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15" 2014 MacBook Pro, i7 2.5Ghz, 16GB RAM, 512GB SSD; iPad 3, iPhone 6
Thats a tough choice. I actually now wish I'd got a Pro, but that's not to say I don't love my MacBook black to bits.

I think the difference between a CoreDuo and a G4 is significant enough to warrant purchasing an Intel machine, regardless of other things. If you were planning to get CS3 when it's released, it might be worth the pain of seeing a reduction in performance for a short while. I have read mixed things though, some reviews say a 2ghz CD machine will be about the same speed as a 1gz G4 on CS2 under Rosetta, but I cannot comment really because I have not used it.