Mac would not connect to a Windows network

J

jacobdol

Hi, I need some help. I am new to Mac OS and need some help connecting my Mac to the Home network-
Currently I have this:
Internet<---Wireless Router/Switch <--- { 2PCs (wired), 1PC (wireless), 1 ibook (wireless, OS Panther), 1 Wireless Access Point (wired)}
I have WEP enabled with 64bit encryption.
ibook connects to the network and i can access the internet but the ibook does not see any PCs nor PCs can access it.
it only worked once when I was able to access the network computer from my ibook but now it is not working. Are ther any specific actions I should take in order to connect the ibook to the HOME network?

OP
T

TylerMoney

Try loggin out of your account, then going back in and checking your networks...you should see them then...I have a similar problem sometimes.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
G5•2x1.8•1.5•320•8x+/-
Applications >> Utilities >> Directory Access

change the Samba (SMB) setting to the workgroup you use for your PCs

OP
J

jacobdol

I am yet to change the SMB settings but here's what's been happening now:
After I restarted my mac, it sees the windows computer but when I navigate to Shared folders they appear EMPTY in the Finder window :-|
Then, I also tried to connect to the mac comp from Windows PCs by going to Add My Network place and typing mac's IP address and it seems to work to the point where I get a login window with my user directory \\s.comp\[username] and it asks for a ?password ?! I tried entering my mac account password but it does not work. Is it because my account password is only four chars long and windows thinks it is not secure or what else? what kind of password does it need? Or may be my Mac would not let the PC connect to it without some weird password being setup?
Why cannot they just all get along? :)

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
G5•2x1.8•1.5•320•8x+/-
make sure you have enabled Windows Sharing in System Prefences >> Sharing