Intel Power Mac Kernel Panic

Reaction score
Hi members,

I keeping getting kernel panic attacks and have to keep rebooting my machine. I am very very new to the mac osx and have not got a clue why it is doing it and how to stop it. I have done some researching on the internet and followed the instructions as to where a log file is created, but there does not seem to be any logs created.

The first time it happened I was running the following apps:

Itunes 7
Mail
Mac Messenger
Paralls Desktop (Windows Server 2003)

I restarted my machine, checked the crash log folder - nothing. It then happened again, this time I was not running any programs, again on restart no logs created.

I would be most grateful for any assistance. I do have applecare, but need to know if this is the correct time to use it :)

Thanks in advance.

Wayne

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Pro | LED Cinema Display | iPhone 4 | iPad 2
Usually this is caused by bad RAM. Have you added any recently? If not, I'd take it to the Apple store and have them take a look.

Reaction score
this exact thing happend on my macbook pro. try to archive and install mac os x or if that doesnt work try a clean install (which deletes your hd). i did a archive and install and a clean install and it still didnt work. so i called apple care and it ended up being a memory problem so i deleted all my hd for nothing! so just run a harware test using the mac os x install disk (hold command d during starup) and see if somthing is wrong with yout harware or just repair your disk with disk utility on your installation disk. these two should fix it. if these two dont work or if u have a hardware problem take it to a mac techno and get it fixed! :)

Reaction score
u beat me to it schweb! plus i did a much more informative approach! (could just do an archiev and isntall to fix it?)

OP
W
Reaction score
thanks for the quick responses guys.

Ok I have run the following