Never Owned A Mac.....help Me!!

M

mrjonz43

hello to all here, i am new to Macs, never owned one and never handled one. I am thinking of purchasing a Macbook, any suggestions to a newbie about which one to buy, should i start out with a used G3? What should I look for?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
13" Macbook CD2.0gz 60gb harddrive, 1.25GB RAM, external 120gb HD, 37" JVC LCD HDTV display via HDMI
I was in the same situation....I just went out and bought a MacBook...i havn't been able to use it yet....but i think that you might as well get the MacBook...from what I hear it is amazing...I can't wait to get started

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook
The most important thing to do is to follow these steps in this exact order:

1.) Try to get as solid of an idea as you can about exactly what it is that you want a computer to do

2.) Determine if your current computer does this to your satisfaction

3.) If your computer doesn't do this to your satisfaction, then do your research to see if the Mac will do that for you.

If you decide the Mac might be for you, first thing is first. Ask questions, read articles, browse and search this very forum for answers to your inquiries.
Definitely try one out before you buy one. Go to an Apple Retail Store, ask a friend or co-worker who might have one... anything, but try one out first.
If you do get your hands on one, give it a go and get into the applications and such. Get used to the navigation style and the look and feel of Mac OS X.
Forget about how you did things with your previous OS and concentrate on how to do things the Mac way. Don't compare how you did something previously and try to find an equivalent way to do the same thing in Mac OS X.

Learn the new, forget the old... at least while you are running Mac OS X.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15" 2014 MacBook Pro, i7 2.5Ghz, 16GB RAM, 512GB SSD; iPad 3, iPhone 6