Someone Help!!!!Going crazy....

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
13" Macbook CD2.0gz 60gb harddrive, 1.25GB RAM, external 120gb HD, 37" JVC LCD HDTV display via HDMI
Ok I am new to Mac's and I hope someone can help me with this problem.

I just bought a macbook and it had ONLY Windows XP installed on it. I didn't no this was even possible but I didn't want it on there. I did not get any restore discs but i have the install discs for Panther that I want to install for now.

When i put the install disc in Windows XP keeps butting up (i tried holding down "C") so now I formatted the harddrive but it still has PC-Dos and when I try to load the Panther disc is comes up Mouse not attached and then goes to A: (which has Fdisk, Autoexec, Format, Mouse.....) I switch it to the C: (which is the Panther disc) and try to load any file to start the install...it says Mac disc loaded but any file i try to open says bad or invalid file...

Does anyone know what is going on? I have been at this for days with no luck.
I found the restore discs for a mini mac (which is very close to the macbook specs wise) on ebay that I am thinking about buying to try but I dont even know if that will work and I would rather not buy it if i dont have to...
Thanks for any help....

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Pro M1 • iPhone 14 Pro • iPad Pro • iMac Retina 27"
You need a copy of OSX for Intel-based Macs for your Macbook.

If you didn't get the restore discs when you bought the computer, you'll need to buy a full copy of OSX Tiger (10.4) from your local Apple retailer.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Aluminium Macbook 2.4 Ghz 4GB RAM, SSD 24" Samsung Display, iPhone 4, iPad 2
Actually, you'll have to wait until 10.5 is released or contact apple to buy some restore discs through them.

The current boxed retail versions of 10.4 Tiger are PowerPC only.
10.5. Leopard will be the first off the shelf release that is Universal. (Apart from 10.4 server).