New to the Mac: Partitioning

Reaction score
I just ordered my first Mac computer. When it arrives, I'd like to partition the hard drive, since -according to Macworld.com advice- it's the ideal time to partition a hard drive because you won't have anything to backup.

As you see, I'll be new to the Macintosh. I've been doing some research for the past three months about how things work in the mac (the OS, utilities, etc.). According to my research, in order to partition the startup disk you need to:

1. Boot from the OS X installation CD.
2. Select Disk Utility.
3. Determine the name, size and number of partitions you want.
4. And click Partition.

But after that what should I do. I know I will need to install the OS and its software, but do I have to do that for every partition I make. Can you give me instructions on how to proceed after the hard drive is partitioned?

Thanks.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Pro 2.16 GHz Core 2 Duo 1GB RAM
Let me know once you find out, because I'm going to be getting a MacBook Pro soon. Have you read about BootCamp? http://www.apple.com/macosx/bootcamp/ I'm not sure if you want to run windows or you just want to partition it for other uses.

OP
J
Reaction score
DarkRaven24 said:
Let me know once you find out, because I'm going to be getting a MacBook Pro soon. Have you read about BootCamp? http://www.apple.com/macosx/bootcamp/ I'm not sure if you want to run windows or you just want to partition it for other uses.

Actually I'm in no need, for the time being, to be running Windows on my future Mac. Basically the partitions are for other users. I hope someone can confirm that the steps I posted above are the correct ones, and also how to proceed after that.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Aluminium Macbook 2.4 Ghz 4GB RAM, SSD 24" Samsung Display, iPhone 4, iPad 2
Why don't you just use the multi user feature of OS X instead?

Anyway, this is how I'd recommend doing it if you really must use partitions: