how to change ethernet address in imac

Reaction score
Hi!

I just bought a imac 17" C2D 2.0 ghz. I am completely new to mac, but quite enjoying the change here. I guess will take some time to get into mac mode completely.
Anyways, since I have been a windows user till now, my surfing happens on this windows XP machine--
1) my ? is - since my network provider has locked in/configured my windows "mac/ethernet address", I can access net thru windows machine only.
2)Now without going in for a second connection or going for a static IP to use both the computers. Is there any way out??? If sharing is the solution pls pls guide me PC to mac ......net connection
3) Is it possible to change mac address on imac OS X and if yes how???

thanks so much

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook
What kind of connection do you have?
I would imagine that all you would need is a router, I can't see any provider being so strict as to limit your connection to one and only one machine.
You cannot change the MAC address on a machine as it is a unique identifier for each machine. There are ways to spoof it and make it appear differently on certain networks, but not change it. That wouldn't help your situation anyway.
If you don't have a router and would like to use your Mac with your current connection, all you would have to do is power-cycle your modem before you connect your Mac.

OP
K
Reaction score
D3v1L80Y said:
What kind of connection do you have?
I would imagine that all you would need is a router, I can't see any provider being so strict as to limit your connection to one and only one machine.
You cannot change the MAC address on a machine as it is a unique identifier for each machine. There are ways to spoof it and make it appear differently on certain networks, but not change it. That wouldn't help your situation anyway.