DVD Shrink under Parallels

Reaction score
I've been using DVD Shrink to backup some dvds and it works fine under Bootcamp. It doesn't work under Parallels. Anyone else tried this? Thanks.

Jem

Reaction score
Sorry, haven't tried it but is there something DVD Shrink does that Mac The Ripper doesn't do? Just curious as I used to use DVD Shrink on the PC all the time but havent needed it since going to Mac route...

Interesting though, I wonder if it's a driver issue for the DVD drive. Does it give any form of error?

J

josh75

Hey ripfrankwhite....I've been tearing my hair out "trying" to get an answer to that same question for about the last 2 days straight. I'm totally new to mac's..and an overall tech-bafoon..so i may not be of the best help. But..anyways..i just installed parallels on my macmini for mostly that reason: to be able to use dvdshrink. Downloaded shrink alright...but having all sorts of errors trying to use it. That's been the question i've been putting out there in numerous forums: Is whether or not parallels "will" work with dvdshrink. So far i "think" not. Heard something about parallels having difficulty in recognizing a cd/dvd burner for what it is. And i'm almost positive that you can't burn anything with parallels..that "if" you could get shrink to work you'd have to save the movie to a shared folder then burn it on osx with popcorn or whatever.

I'm in the opposite side of the spectrum as you. I've been trying to use parallels with shrink but can't...and was wondering if i should just go ahead and use bootcamp to do so. ***So...bootcamp DOES definitely work alright with DVDSHRINK? If so i'll do it. And, man...if you find anything out about getting shrink to work on parallels please let me know ([email protected]).