NUS Apple Discount (UK)

B

Bluewolf

Egad, I have switched too soon! I could have saved myself some money and hassel by buying a UK PowerBook.

I just recieved a message from the NUS that NUS members are being offered a 14%* discount on Apple products.
*Conditions and restrictions apply

However I feel that I could probably still be able to benefit from this promotional discount as I am looking for software for my PowerBook. My MS Office X free trial has ended thus leaving me without a good word processing product.

Before I leap right in and buy MS Office X are there any competiting products? As I am new to the whole Apple world I have little knowledge of any Mac only products that may or may not be superior.

As much as I find the whole anti-MS very appealing, and highly amusing, I would like serious evalutations of the competiting software verus MS Office X please. I dont think I can buy a product based on the sole factor that it isn't MS.

Thanks in advance.

Edit: Ack! I just forgot I am on the Internet without anti-virus software. Could someone please recomend a good anti-virus program for Macs and OS X. Quickly though as I can feel my PowerBook getting tainted by the Internet!

OP
H

hokiethang

Bluewolf said:
Edit: Ack! I just forgot I am on the Internet without anti-virus software. Could someone please recomend a good anti-virus program for Macs and OS X. Quickly though as I can feel my PowerBook getting tainted by the Internet!

I wouldnt worry about it. As long as you dont surf the internet as root, you will be fine.

OP
S

StarManta

Bluewolf said:
My MS Office X free trial has ended thus leaving me without a good word processing product.

Before I leap right in and buy MS Office X are there any competiting products? As I am new to the whole Apple world I have little knowledge of any Mac only products that may or may not be superior.