The Extras: To buy or not to buy

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
20" iMac 2.16 GHz C2D, 2 GB
First off, let me say I've been working with Macs for the past 5 years and the new iMacs have driven me to go out and buy my own for personal and free lance use. So yesterday, I walk into the Apple Store ready to make my purchase and get hit with a few more decisions. Should I buy these extras?

- Apple Care $169 ($119 edu): 3 yr warrenty. I am leaning toward yes on this purchase since it's an all-in-one. If I just had to replace a monitor or some other component, maybe not. Is this a well spent $169?

- Pro Care: VIP help. I'm thinking no. It puts me in line before others that need help and sets me up with free classes for things like Photoshop, Final Cut, and other programs I either know fully or don't care about. I don't remember the cost but I think it was around $100.

- .Mac ($99 or $69 with the computer purchase): a gig of web space, another email address, and easy backup. I'm thinking no again. I do a lot of web design so I have my own space(s) on the web with ftp access. The last thing I really need is another email address outside of my two work addys and two personal addys. Then there's the backup to dvd stuff. I backup my computer every so often, but mainly its clients files to a dvd or cd. As for my personal stuff, I backup my photos to a cd every few months in fear of losing those files/memories. Do I really need .Mac of is that just another $70-100 down the tubes. I'm leaning toward no on this as well.

I would love to hear from anyone and everyone, supporting my decisions or convincing me to sway. I plan on making the actual purchase within the next few days. I figure I've waited this long, whats a hair longer.

Reaction score
Apple care: