superdrive spits out DVD-Rs

V

vulpixel

I bought a MacBook Pro a month or two ago, and it's been great at burning and reading CD-Rs, CD-RWs, and Audio CDs. I just bought a spool of Sony DVD-Rs, and every time I insert any one of the discs it makes some whirring sounds a few times, and then spits it out, like it's sneezing. My mac's capable of reading and writing DVD-Rs, DVD-RWs, DVD+Rs, and DVD+RWs, so why is it sneezing out my DVD-Rs?

rman

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
14in MacBook Pro M1 Max 32GB 2TB
Do you have this problem with other brands of media?

OP
V

vulpixel

This is my first time trying to burn DVDs, so I haven't used any other brand. I've always used Sony CD-Rs and CD-RWs and never had a problem. DVD videos work fine too.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Pro 8x3.0ghz 12gb ram 8800GT , MBP 2.16 2GB Ram 17 inch.
It sounds like you have a combo drive, even though thats impossible because you have the macbook pro... call apple it seams to be a hardware problem.

But first you can try the following things:
reset pmu
zap pram
repair permissions.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Aluminium Macbook 2.4 Ghz 4GB RAM, SSD 24" Samsung Display, iPhone 4, iPad 2
It could just be a bad batch of blanks, I've seen weirder things happen with blank media before...

Buy a single different brand blank disc and see if that works.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Black 2ghz / 2g / 160g72k | Ipod nano black 4G
Sony doesnt make the best disks, could just be a compatibility issue, try some other media first. Not all drives can read / right all media/ companies disks.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
i dont have no mac's
happens to me on occasion and what do i do? i keep reinserting the disk until it is accepted. i do give up after about 4 attempts