New to Mac Some clarification requested

Reaction score
Hi All,

I am new to Mac and new to this forum. I have been browsing around for a few weeks and just read and read some of the pointers and responces to other peoples' problems.

I went out and got a Mac... Pretty happy with it. Like all the little user friendly things that they have implemented into their OS.

My question is specific to file browsing (pics).

I imported all my pics from the backup DVD that I had from the old computer...

My DVD had duplicates for some reason in this structure:

Root Folder:

Vacation Pics (folder)
- Dominican (Subfolder)
- Mexico (Subfolder)
Misc (folder)
- Mexico Trip (Subfolder)

Now I see the Photos in iPhoto, however, they are unsorted, basically everything is in bulk in a general library...
Because I have not renamed individual pics, I can not search or sort by name... The general Library contains all photos. When I export them to a smaller version (for web use)... It exports some photos twice because of the duplicate folders that I have imported.

The problem thickens a little further:

I have 2 cameras, and one camera had the date reset so some photos have wrong dates, thus not allowing me to search / sort by dates properly...

Here is another issue:

The DVD contained the files in the root by it self (not in any folder)

If I navigate directly into iPhoto folder through the finder, I can not find where it stored those pics... Did it create a separate folder for them?

What I want to know is... How would I go about the sorting process? How can I get rid of the duplicate issue?

There may be some more little issues, but I just cant remember them already. Does Dreamweaver work on IntelMacs natively? Not through Boot camp or Rosetta... As far as I can tell Adobe did not come out with a UB for dreamweaver yet. :p

Thanks all for looking...

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Pro 15" 2.16Ghz Core Duo 1GB Ram 80GB