Annie

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
White MacBook @ 2ghz, 1 gig of ram, 100GB HDD
Does your modem working though?

OP
A

Annie

thanks - my modem is working but it will only work for 5 minutes or less then lose connection - then I get the message in the corner of my pc that a network cable has been unplugged when no cable is unplugged. It will go away - Internet will come back up then go through the whole thing again. I removed the modem and reset it back up but still the same thing. I have since gone back to non-wireless until I can get this figured out. This is my first time using wireless Internet so I'm sure something isn't right somewhere. I am using a Linksys G and I just went through the set up on the screen from the CD they supplied, went to my mac and had Internet. It worked for a while then it started losing connection. The wireless modem sits next to the cable modem. I'm not sure - any help would be much appreciated. I'm not going to be here this morning but will be back after lunch - any ideas??? Thanks so much

Annie

OP
R

Rob

Make sure the cables going from the modem to the router are connected securely. They have to click in. Also, make sure the router cord is pluged into the slot labled "Internet" on the back of the router.

When your internet goes out again, could you tell me which lights are on, on the router and modem.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook 2.0GHz White, 512MB RAM, 60GB HDD
The first thing to do would be to grab something like iStumbler and check that your wireless network isn't on the same channel as another in your vicinity. Conflicting frequencies is the usual cause for randomly breaking wireless networks.

OP
A

Annie

Rob said:
Make sure the cables going from the modem to the router are connected securely. They have to click in. Also, make sure the router cord is pluged into the slot labled "Internet" on the back of the router.