Logging out when closing macbook- a must?

R

RamenMan

I'm wondering if there's anyway to close my macbook's screen without automatically logging off. I'm new to the world of Macs, so if its an option in the preferences, I've missed it.

Carrying around the book with the screen half open is a hassle, when I want to keep the book running with downloads and such continuing.

Thanks, y'all.

-Ramen.

Reaction score
noty sure how to help ya but mine doesnt log me out when I close it, so there must be a way

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
White Macbook 2.0 ghz, 80 gig hdd, 1gig ram
I dont get logged off either but im pretty sure i cannot continue downloading

Reaction score
The Mac just goes to sleep when you close it. I don't know of a way to avoid it. This has been asked before, but I'm not sure what the response was. I think it can only be closed and still operate if the DVI port is used to connect an external display.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook 2.0GHz White, 512MB RAM, 60GB HDD
I assume you mean preventing it going to sleep and logging off the network. This has been answered before but the search isn't bringing much back ...

One thing you could try is a little shareware utility called SleepLess (http://macupdate.com/info.php/id/10564) that will prevent sleep on lid closure. Just set it to keep the macbook awake when you close the lid and it should be fine. Note that to put the system to sleep you'll have to use the apple menu -> sleep option instead.

OP
D

drinkmilk15

i think the sleepless software is supposed to not be very good for you machine. so use it at your own risk.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
where did you hear about it not being good for the machine? I've been searching but can't find anything negative about it particularly.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Aluminium Macbook 2.4 Ghz 4GB RAM, SSD 24" Samsung Display, iPhone 4, iPad 2