Question about G4 Processor speed

Reaction score
I am new to macs and i know nothing about them... I am a big PC person and I have grown up around a computer engineer [My Dad] and he always dealt with PC's. Recently I was talking to a friend about wanting to get a laptop because I am going to college this winter and I wanted something that would be portable. He just happened to have a G4 Apple Laptop 12" and he said that the processor speed was 867mhz and the ram is 640mb with a 60 gig harddrive... Well he told me that the 867mhz in a mac is more like a 2.7 pentium. So my question is, is this true? I just want to cover all my bases before I buy this mac laptop from him. So if any of you know, please tell me. Thanks in advance!

-Stephanie

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook
h2o_spirals said:
Well he told me that the 867mhz in a mac is more like a 2.7 pentium. So my question is, is this true?
No, it isn't.
The truth of the matter is, just as you can't compare Windows to Mac OS, you can't compare the speed of a PPC chip to an Intel chip. They are two completely different animals and there really is no realistic and fair way to compare the two.
Some will tell you there is a 'formula' to figure out the similarity, others will tell you to double the speed of the PPC to get the Pentium equivalent..etc.
None of these are even close to being accurate.
In 20 years of using a Mac, the best and only way I have found to find out if it is fast enough or good enough for you is to try it out before you buy it.
:black:

OP
h2o_spirals
Reaction score
D3v1L80Y said:
No, it isn't.
The truth of the matter is, just as you can't compare Windows to Mac OS, you can't compare the speed of a PPC chip to an Intel chip. They are two completely different animals and there really is no realistic and fair way to compare the two.
Some will tell you there is a 'formula' to figure out the similarity, others will tell you to double the speed of the PPC to get the Pentium equivalent..etc.