Last questions before the big purchase!

N

nipun49

Hello again, everyone! Some might remember me from the thread I made last Christmas. Well I'm her, an inch away from buying an iMac! But, of course, I've got some last questions.

(BTW this is all for the 20" iMac Intel Duo)

1) I understand from what I've heard that Boot Camp runs Windows very well (to the extent that it's like you're using a PC entirely). That means I can play any XP-compatible game I'd like, right? I hope so because I couldn't give them all up, ;). Also, is the X1600 a good graphics card? Is there any benchmarks so I can compare it to other cards?

2) I'm a student so I qualify for the student discount. However, is there any deals (minus the free iPod one) that I can grab? Is it safe to get a used Apple from someone on Craigslist or something? Or should I stick with a new Apple-shipped iMac?

3) 512 MB of RAM probably won't cut it for me, so I'll add (most likely) a 1GB 667 DDR2 SDRAM stick of some third party (Kingston, Corsair, whatever). Is this okay? Will it cause any sort of slowdown in comparison to Apple RAM? Because I don't want to shell out $270 for more RAM from Apple. <_<

4) Will my iMac work with my wired router? I have a DI-604 ver. C and it connects through Ethernet. I don't think there's any drivers for it, but you can access it through the browser.

5) Is it worth upgrading the graphics card for $68 to the 256MB version? I play some games like Splinter Cell and stuff.

Thanks so much for any responses! :)

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
3.4 Ghz i7 MacBook Pro (2015), iPad Pro (2014), iPhone Xs Max. Apple TV 4K
1 - Do a Google search for for that card, you should be able to find benchmarks

2 - I would stick with a new one from Apple, but that is me.

3 - Add the 1Gb of extra RAM. It won't adversely impact your iMac. I did the same thing last week with my wife's new iMac and it works fine.