Need Help With Clamshells....... Reward

Reaction score
Hey folks, i'm in a real pickle right now. i bought 25 clamshell 466mhz graphite ibooks and whenever i put the HD in and put a disc in the drive to try to install an OS nothing happens, so i pressed the option key and this blue screen with a lock on one side and an arrow on the other, with a space to write in, in the middle. now what i need to know is what should i do? i can put these things together like no one else but when it comes to software i'm lost. i'm going to try to attach the picture of what the screen looks like but i'm not too good at that either. but if someone can get these things up and running i'll give you a complete (no power cord) graphit clamshell for free. basically what i'm trying to say is I NEED HELP ASAP.

ibook.jpg

rman

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
14in MacBook Pro M1 Max 32GB 2TB
Looks like the person before you had the system pass word protected.

Have you tried like Rob suggested? Reboot the system insert the install media (CD) and hold the C key.

OP
D
Reaction score
already done that, and nothing happens. i can hold down the "c" key until the cows come home and still nothing happens. I can hear the dvd spinning and when i manually eject the cd it's still spinning.

R

Rob

That mean he put a 'Open Firmware password' on the computer.

IIRC, you have to change the amount of RAM in your computer, then boot up and immediately reset PRAM by holding the Command-Option-P-R key combination, that should reset the password.

OP
D
Reaction score
Rob i'll try that in the next few days (i have to work tonight, tomorrow all day) and if it works then you just may have gotten yourself a ibook.

R

Rob

:D
Just make sure you boot with a different amount of RAM other wise it won't work!
and just out of curiosity, why did you buy 25 iBooks? lol

OP
D
Reaction score