Thinking of a Macbook

P

PJmikk04

I am currently thinking of getting a macbook and trading my dell inspiron 9100. I am a college student that is studying abroad this upcoming semester in london and will be taking a computer with me. I dread taking my dell laptop because of its weight and batt life. I am trying to figure out if a macbook is going to be right for me, I no longer play PC games (I have a 360 now), I do multi-task such as word process, surf the web, and listen to music, and also download. Would the macbook be capable of doing maybe 3 of these task at a time? Thank You

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
i dont have no mac's
omg it can do all of that and a whole lot more at the same time. my 4 year old powerbook can run FCP, adiumx, and itunes all at the same time

go to the store and look at the macbook and you wont be disapointed
-chris

OP
P

PJmikk04

I am new to Mac not much knowledge about them, What are drawbacks to not having a video card I know gaming, but what else? Also could someone point me in the direction of some macbook benchmarks of dvd ripping? I dont absolutely need the macbook until september, should i wait until than to purchase it, will there be any major revisions?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
i dont have no mac's
there is a lot to learn about both the computers themselves and also the company itself.

apple is extremely secretive, anything you hear about future products is a rumor and should be treated as one. will there be another revision before september? IMHO most likely not. but there is still a good chance, you never know what they have up their sleeve.

ripping a dvd, i dont know about benchmarks but it should only take a few minutes, longest part of the process is going to be the compression but you can still do a lot of stuff while it is compressing. i would suggest light computer usage while burning a dvd, i even do that with my dual 2.7ghz powermac with 2.5gig of ram.