Noobie questions about minor annoyances

C

cmer

Hi everybody!

I'm new to Macs... gone mine about a month ago and I have a few questions/annoyances I'd like to solve. I was on Windows for a while before that.

My first question is, lets say I open a folder filled with pictures and I double-click the first picture to see it (Preview opens), is there a way to go to the next picture (ex: using the arrows) instead of closing Preview and double-clicking the next one in the Finder? (similar to how it works on XP)

Second question... I -really- miss an address (path) bar in the Finder, like XP has. Let's say I navigate somewhere, is there a way to copy the current path to clipboard? I know how to paste a path and go there automatically, but I'd like to be able to get the current address somehow. Is there a 3rd party tool that adds an address bar to the Finder?

That's it for now. Thanks!

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15" Powerbook G4 • 24" iMac • iPhone 3Gs
1. Highlight all of the picture, hit Command(the apple button)+O. This will open all of the images in Preview and you'll be able to scroll through them like you want. An even better option, though, is to enable Column View (click "View" in Finder). This allows you to preview images without opening Preview.

2. Shift+Command+G opens a window with the current path in it, you can also type paths into this window and it will open the directory.

Sound good?

OP
C

cmer

Sounds good indeed! I never noticed the path showed up there before... I knew I could paste it, but didn't know I could get it from there.

Is there a way to -always- see the path on screen, like Windows Explorer's address bar? Maybe a 3rd party tool for that?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15" Powerbook G4 • 24" iMac • iPhone 3Gs
I don't think so, I like Column view about 1 million times better than the Windows path bar, though.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Studio, M1 Max, 32 GB RAM, 2 TB SSD