Lightroom VS Aperature

M

mstruvdisaster

Anybody have experiences with either/or, both? How do they compare? I heard Aperature takes alot of memory? Sorry for all the questions, this is my first mac and i'm a photographer that needs a good program to manage 60 gigs of photos. Thanks.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15" Powerbook G4 • 24" iMac • iPhone 3Gs
Lightroom is still in Beta.

That noted, I'd say Aperture still has it beat currently, but based only on stability. Lightroom has a few more features, I like the layout better, and it seems to run faster on my Powerbook. The white balance, color correction, and effects seem to look cleaner, too.

So, in my opinion, once Lightroom is stable and released, I think it will be better than Aperture.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Pro 2.6 GHz Core 2 Duo 4GB RAM OS 10.5.2
Yeah I really like Lightroom, although Im a bit worried to see what the cost will be, but I doubt it will be more than Aperture which like was mentioned above.. has some serious hardware requirements.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Pro, 8-Core 2.8Ghz, 10GB RAM, 2x1TB HDDs, iPod U2 Edition
Yeah... I've tried both... as of now Aperture has the win. But that could change if Apple doesn't work out some of it's shortcomings quickly.

Overall nobody can say whether Lightroom will beat Aperture in the long run... Apple has shown they can get serious about their pro software. FCP killed Adobe Premiere on the Mac platform and Aperture could easily do the same... It's just a matter of how bad Apple wants it.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Studio, M1 Max, 32 GB RAM, 2 TB SSD