External Hard drive not showing any of my data when i open it.

Reaction score
Hello Guys, I am a tech noob to say the least so i'm going to try my best to explain my situation as i can.

I had an imac late 2009 model that would no longer boot. I finally figured the hard drive was dead. I decided to open the imac and remove the hard drive so that i can connect it via usb and sata cable to my macbook pro. I've succesfully connected the hard drive to my macbook pro. However i receive an error message once the hard drive mounts.

something like mac osx cannot repair etc.. so i figured ok my hard drive is fried and all my data is lost.. But i decided to start messing with some of the options and viola.. when i go to open the hard drive mounted on my desktop a few of the folders and items appear in the window. i successfully recover a music file then accidentally unplug the hard drive from the power supply. (my luck)

now when i repeat the process the HD shows up on my desktop like before but i cannot get it to show any of the contents in the HD. Its just blank?

I'm really new to anything like this and have no idea what to do. I've tried youtube and google but can't seem to find the answers i'm looking for. Any help?

I simply just want to recover some photos and logic pro sessions i had on this drive. I was able to recover a music file so i feel like it's still possible. If anyone has a video or some advice to help out would be great. Before i take it somewhere and they charge me for service.

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey