RAW Files

Reaction score
Hi

I recently got an iPhone X for work which has inspired me to resume photography as the camera on it is pretty good. I used to be a photographer but gave it up a few years back but I'm intrigued by the iPhone's capabilities.

Anyway, I wanted to use RAW and to this end I bought a couple of camera apps ( Manual and ProCamera ) however, I can't seem to get them to shoot RAW. I select it in the apps and it takes a picture but whenever I download it to my Mac via iCloud it comes out as JPEG. This is also the case when I use Google Photo.

I did get a couple of shots in RAW a couple of days ago when I bought the apps so I don't know if I've changed my phone settings or something but I can't find where I've done this.

Can anyone recommend what I could try?

Thanks

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBookAir5,2:10.13.6-iMac18,3:10.13.6-iPhone9,3:11.4.1
Is there a phone/camera based setting wherein you can choose to shoot in RAW or JPEG format? With my Nikon camera, I set the format type on the camera, and then have to be sure my viewing/editing application (Lightroom 6.x) has the proper RAW "drivers" to use the camera specific image formats or can convert them from RAW to JPEG, or whatever. The viewing/editing app doesn't really "shoot" in RAW format. Then again, I could be completely missing what your question is.

OP
W
Reaction score
I believe I've worked out that the photo app in iOS will not store RAW files and I need to find another way. If I take a single shot with Halide then export it via Airdrop to my Mac, voilá, I have a RAW DNG file on my desktop. However this obviously isn't a solution for everyday shooting. I need to store these files in batches when I'm out and about until I get home and I'm ready to transfer a load of them to my Mac at once.