iWeb

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Power Mac G5 10.5.6, 4 gig several ImacsG4's 640kb/10.3.9 and an Ibook G4/Tiger
Thinking of buying iLife '06 for the iWeb app, but had a few questions.

Can I use iWeb to make pages and have them hosted by something other than .mac? I dont mind using .mac but have my own domain names and really dont know if I can use them with a .mac account. I remember when I had .mac my email and web address where about 200 characters long :)

as you can see Im very new to this so feel free to offer any advice you have on building a web site for a small but growing photography business.

A friend creates and maintains web sites has helped me as best he can but I just dont have the time to learn the "real" way and am very interested in the iWeb approach.

http://thesbimage.com/

I love the first page (he had it up in a few minutes, it would have takin me a year :) )

but I need to do much of the rest and feel starting fresh with a app like iWeb would be a better idea

thank you
Ray

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15" Powerbook G4 • 24" iMac • iPhone 3Gs
iWeb works fine at making simple, generic websites. You can customize it to a point, but it's very time consuming.

You don't have to use .Mac, but it makes the whole process a lot easier.

iWeb makes pages with very bloated code. Pages load very slowly.

Overall, though, I feel that you would enjoy using it, and it would be worth it in the long run.

OP
RayLee
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Thanks, I think simple is what Im after, many of the "big" sites are just much, I want to make it clean and simple

a main page (I like the general look of the one I have) all I need is 4 or 5 portfolio pages (wedding, fashion, sports, product, fine art) contact page, about us and what we can provide. all clean and consistent

sample portfolio page

http://www.pbase.com/ray645/image/58661222