Internet recovery problems?

Reaction score
Hello all. First off my name is Chris and I am new to macs, very new. I have a macbook pro 15' from 2011 or 12 I believe, with the flashing ? folder. I have a new drive wiped clean. When I attempt to do a internet recovery I am having problems. I power on and hold command-option-R. It gives the message that this may take awhile. Then asks to choose network, which I do and put in password. ( I have also attempted to use with LAN drop with the same results). It connects and I get the spinning globe & progress bar. After some time could be a minute or could be 10 minutes as the time fluctuates with attempts I get an apple logo. Now sometimes I get a progress bar under the logo and sometimes a spinning wheel. When I get the progress bar it get to the halfway point and the screen goes blank(white/grey, and blank) and that's it. I let it sit for hours. If I get the spinning wheel under the apple logo, it spins for a bit. Then the screen goes black for second and then the white/ grey blank screen comes back and its done.
So I don't know what I am doing wrong. I tried a drive with windows on it and it tried to boot into to windows so I know it sees the drive. I have tried on multiple networks with WiFi & ethernet and still nothing. I do not have access to another macbook to make a bootable usb or cd. I cannot even get to a disk utility or the like.
Oh. on one attempt and only 1 attempt I got an error. 2100f with the exclamation point but only once for that out of say a dozen or so tries. If I let it boot and press no keys I get the flashing question mark or Windows logo depending on which drive I tried.

So any ideas on what to do? How can I get this working? Is there something I haven't tried? Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Chris

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Silver M1 iMac 512/16/8/8 macOS 11.6