Mac Pro 2008 Loficboard Repair, Might need a Pro?

Reaction score
Hey guys,

So Im new to circuit board work. I recently began having my computer freeze to a black or white screen after it was on for anywhere from 2 to 45 minutes. After taking my tower apart I saw that there was much more build up in the fans and heat sink area than there was before and part of the circuit board had fallen off. ( I apologize but I dont know what the piece is called) The piece is black and has risers on it. Its the 1st Picture attached. It is supposed to be what I believe Thermal Pasted on and then clipped on the Logicboard via 2 arch type circuits. The 2nd picture attached is where it connects. The 3rd and 4th pictures are the circled in red where I believe it clips. My question is from looking at the pictures is it possible to just buy the replacement arch circuit, install it and then replace the black rectangle with thermal paste and then problem solved? Or do I need to purchase an entirely new logicboard and go from there? Thank you!
1. 20171002_225444.jpg
2. 20171002_225454.jpg
3. Screenshot_20171002-213020.jpg
4. Screenshot_20171002-213123.jpg

pigoo3

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
That part is a cooling heat sink. Yes it needs to be reattached...yes thermal paste needs to be applied first...yes an over-heating problem in this area is what's causing the freez-ups.

You didn't say exactly...but is one or more of the little hooks that the heatsink clips attach to missing/broken. From what I can see in the photos...it looks like one is missing. These things usually don't just fall off...more than likely the computer was dropped (or bumped very hard)...and it broke off due to the sudden shock.