6TB drive won't format as HFS+

Reaction score
Hi all. I'm really new to the Mac world. I have a 640GB drive that is 98% full and so I bought a 6 TB drive that I wanted to clone. I tried cloning it with Acronis but that failed (turns out the hard drive was bad from the manufacturer). I got a new drive and booted the iMac (running El Capitan) with GParted. I have a four-port cradle and connected that to the Mac and then tried to format it as HFS+ and I get an error every time about partition limitations. I initially tried to make one partition of 5.6 TB (give or take) and thought that wouldn't be a problem. Then I tried to make three partitions of about 2 TB each. That didn't work either. I'm ready to throw the whole mess in the river and give up. I don't know why I can't get it to format. I think if I got it to format as HFS+ I could do a restore from my backup and that would, in effect, be a bootable clone (or am I mistaken?). What am I doing wrong?

M

MacInWin

Welcome to the forum.

What Mac? What version of the OS? Normally to partition and format a drive you don't use third party tools, just Disk Utility in the Utilities folder of the Applications folder. You don't need or want to use Acronis or GParted. Stick with what Apple provided.

OP
M
Reaction score
As I said, it's an iMac (24" all in one) running El Capitan. I tried using Disk Utility but it doesn't see the drive. I installed the drive brand new thinking it would, at the very least, tell me the drive is not formatted but it just blinks a question mark at me. That is how I ended up trying Acronis and GParted because Apple products didn't do anything. I installed the old drive and then hooked up the new drive via a USB cable (the all-in-one only has one drive bay so I can't install it physically in the unit) and that is the only way it was seen and even then, only GParted saw the drive and identified it properly but it won't format.

M

MacInWin