Restoring Ringtones

Reaction score
Today I synced up an app from iTunes from my Mac with my iPhone. It removed all my personalized ringtones. Grrrr! I heard this could happen but I needed the app. Anyway...

When I tried to restore my ringtones from my mac I got this message: Are you sure you want to remove existing music, movies, TV shows, books and tones from this iPhone and sync with this iTunes Library? Music, moves, TV shows, book and tones synced to iPhone from other iTunes libraries will be removed and items will be synced from this iTunes Library.

It kind of scared me because I don't know exactly what it means and I am not very good with iTunes. If it's no big deal, I'll try it.

Otherwise, I was told to go to iTunes.com/restore-tones on my iPhone. It won't load up and has a message that says, in essence, there is a robot.txt on my phone not allowing it to load up the url.

Anyone know anything about this kind of thing?

Thanks.

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
You can restore ringtones by making sure that you only do just that.... First, make sure your device is selected and then click on summary. Now select "manually manage music and videos", and "sync only checked songs and videos". Also unselect "Automatically sync when this iPhone is connected". After doing that, highlight "tones" and then check the box that says "all tones" or "selected tones" (whichever you prefer), then check the box that says "sync tones". Then go to the bottom and select "sync" and wait. That will only sync your ringtones and nothing else.