Help How to remove my company mdm profile from my MacBook

Reaction score
Hey I have a MacBook Pro it originally was sold from apple to company I work for but I don't want the restrictions on here so I tried to erase hard drive by going to disk utilities and erased the hard drive and did a new install of sierra OS X once via USB and once via online wifi from apple servers.
But even though it erased the mdm profile remained
The MacBook booted it up just fine I'm an administrator now but it keeps having a pop that says "macOS needs to repair your library to run applications" which apparently is something with the "permissions" which were switched when the new operating system was downloaded.
Secondly about once or twice a day a system preferences pop up comes up that says "would you like my company to configure your system?"

Is there anyway to permanently remove this company profile administrating this MacBook mdm profile please help

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
iMac: 5K 27” (2020), 3.3 GHz, 32Gb RAM. iPad2, iPad mini4, iPhone 13 Mini, Apple Watch SE
That's the way these things work. You'll need to contact your company and get their administrator to remove the restriction.

Raz0rEdge

Staff member
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2022 Mac Studio M1 Max, 2023 M2 MBA
Not sure what technical advice we can provide since re-installing the OS is about as destructive as you can get and if the controls from your company are still in place, you'll need their credentials to remove it. If your company owns the laptop, not sure why you would want to remove the restrictions they've placed..

If you don't work for the company and have purchased the laptop from them, they should gladly remove any restrictions if they failed to do so before allowing you to take it away..

pigoo3

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
Try this:

- Apple menu
- System Preferences
- View menu
- Select Profiles