ibook 600 enough tp play vcds's right?

Reaction score
hi all im new to the os x world and i just got a ibook 12 inch 600mhz 128 mb 20gig, i try to play a vcd but it studders like crazy im using vlc and every so often a 5 framse skipped error shows. Im using a pc to convert the dvd's to vcd, but when i just copy the mpeg over to my mac hdd it seems to work, i have a dvd drive for the ibook in the mail, when this arrives will it fix the skipping( will dvds skip) or is my pc to slow.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
iBook G4 1.2 1.25Gig RAM Emac 1.42Ghz 1GB RAM
scoyne88 said:
hi all im new to the os x world and i just got a ibook 12 inch 600mhz 128 mb 20gig, i try to play a vcd but it studders like crazy im using vlc and every so often a 5 framse skipped error shows. Im using a pc to convert the dvd's to vcd, but when i just copy the mpeg over to my mac hdd it seems to work, i have a dvd drive for the ibook in the mail, when this arrives will it fix the skipping( will dvds skip) or is my pc to slow.

The system is "fast" enough to do most videos and certainly DVDs. However, you mention you are running 128MB of RAM. That's really not enough for Tiger; what version of OS X are you running? To be moderately functional you really need 256MB minimum, and really I'd suggest popping a 512Meg SODIMM in that machine - giving you a total of 640meg. Depending on how much RAM VLC is using up, you may be getting stuttering due to your ibook swapping back and forth to disk - perhaps even swapping part of the VLC program itself while you're trying to play the video.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacMini DC 1.66, Powerbook G4
Yes, stick more RAM in it because this is your primary problem with stuttering video. Like the poster above, I would recommend at least 512MB :doctor:

OP
S
Reaction score