Applications slow to launch

Reaction score
I am fairly new to the Mac. My mac has the latest Sierra update and 8gb ram with plenty of available disk space. I've run CleanMyMac and have no issues but all applications take a very long time to launch. Much slower than launching apps on a pc. Whether I launch Mail, Word, Excel, System Preferences, anything, they all take a long time to come up. Any ideas? This has happened with every update since I've had the mac. Thank you.

pigoo3

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
Two things to start with (since you already mentioned having 8gig of RAM and plenty of storage space):

1. Get rid of "Clean My Mac".
2. Try rebooting the computer.

- Nick

p.s. Please let us know exactly how many gigs of free storage space you have. One person's definition of "plenty"...is not always the same an someone's else's.;)

M

MacInWin

Also, if you have an antivirus application, get rid of it, too. Slows down the Mac unnecessarily and does nothing because there are NO viruses in the wild for Macs.

Slow startup can also be caused by a failing hard drive. How old is the drive?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Air M2 ('22) OS 14.3; M3 iMac ('23) OS 14.3; iPad Pro; iPhone 14
I am fairly new to the Mac. My mac has the latest Sierra update and 8gb ram with plenty of available disk space. I've run CleanMyMac and have no issues but all applications take a very long time to launch. Much slower than launching apps on a pc. Whether I launch Mail, Word, Excel, System Preferences, anything, they all take a long time to come up. Any ideas? This has happened with every update since I've had the mac. Thank you.

Nick & Jake as usual have provided excellent advise - concerning CleanMyMac, removal can be tricky and there are different versions of this 'crapware', so google 'cleanmymac uninstall' and select an appropriate option to assure complete deletion of this product.