What's the difference?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacPro 3.1
Ok, I'm sure that this topic must have been brought up about a million times by now but I really what an expert opinion before I commit to anything.

Here's my situation. I'm a 19 year old student so I have VERY little money at all. Last year the government were kind enough to buy me a computer of my choice because I'm dyslexic and can't spell for ****. I bought with my grant a top spec 15" PowerBook. It's got 2gb ram, 100gb HDD at 72,000 rpm, superdrive, the works basically.

This year the MacBook came out and I recon that I could probably do a straight swap on eBay for my top end PowerBook for a Middlish MacBook. Selling mine and then buying a MacBook.

But, is this worth it? How do the 2 different models compare with each other in terms of power and speed? It's going to be quite a hassle for me and I love my computer.

Another question is, can I take a stick of 1gb ram out of my PowerBook and stick it straight into a MacBook no problem. This will give me at least 1.5gb of Ram on the MacBook but will obviously reduce my selling power. I would quite like to do this as I have Apple Ram (not 3rd party) and might quite like to keep it.

Can you run Windows XP on a MacBook. I need to run autocad for next years uni course. If you can run a Windows application and XP on a MacBook then I may be more up for the switch. Front row is also quite tempting but does the MacBook have a remote?

What do I do? HELP!!

Cheers for your time,

Andrew

J

Jon

I am currently on the Windows XP part of my MBP partition. Matter of factly after I installed Windows I have not gone back to use the OS X partition.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
iMac Intel Core Duo 17" A Little Piece Of Heaven
If you need the extra speed then go ahead and make the switch if you want. If you don't need the extra speed and what not, then just keep the PowerBook.

D

dbouwer

Hi

If you need the speed then it's a good upgrade as said above...