web design

Status
Not open for further replies.
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
13 "MacBookPro (2011).
Hi. I'm after a few ideas I'm wanting to install a web editor on my MBP and would like some input from anyone who has experience. I have been given (by a friend) some potential editors: Notepad++, Komodo, KompoZer all free, also Coda, Rapidweaver, Sandox, SiteStudio, SKEdit and Smultron. What I would like to know is which are compatible with Mac. I am a beginner and think maybe a free one to start with and then progress to better ones. Any advice would be appreciated.
Thanks.

Raz0rEdge

Staff member
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2022 Mac Studio M1 Max, 2023 M2 MBA
Are you looking for a simple text editor to be able to do the web development or are you looking for a WYSIWYG editor where you create a site more by typing rather than coding?

Rapidweaver falls in the latter category where you drag and drop different components and create your site. There are also online versions of this like Wix and Squarespace. On the other hand, Notepad++ is just a plain text editor that you will use to code your site.

What is your level of knowledge with coding/web development?

OP
bluecheer
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
13 "MacBookPro (2011).
Thanks for your response. I'm a beginner and pretty much at the start of learning not to sure on which one to choose to get me going.
Someone told me that Notepad++ is not for Mac is that true.
I'm not sure but would using WYSIWYG be easier for me to start with. Also would it be better to get one from the App store or online.
Thanks.

Raz0rEdge

Staff member
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Notepad++ is only available for Windows. macOS has Textwrangler which is very similar. I use Atom as a code editor for all of my needs.