Partitioning hard drive with disk utility

Reaction score
I remember back in the day of the PC there was a program called i think it was Partition Magic. Great program that would let you do just about anything you wanted to your drives without having to go through all the work of moving, backing up, reinstalling your programs.

I'm just getting started with El Capitan and am wondering if it will let me do basically the same thing using disk utility. I've read a couple of things that seem to say it will. Has anyone done it yet with good results. I have a 1 T disk drive that at the moment only has a few programs and the OS X boot install. What i would like to do is partition the drive into 4 partitions using one partition for the OS X boot and using the other 3 for different things like my music library, documents etc. Can disk utility do this without having to format and start from scratch ?

Rod

Reaction score
Melbourne, Australia and Ubud, Bali, Indonesia
Your Mac's Specs
2021 M1 MacBook Pro 14" macOS 14.4.1, Mid 2010MacBook 13" iPhone 13 Pro max, iPad 6, Apple Watch SE.
Your answer is no. You cannot partition a HD without effectively erasing it. The reason is fairly simple when you think about it. Imagine the Disk is a pie. The information you have on the pie is spread around but we can’t see exactly where. Now you want to cut the pie into 4 equal segments. That would leave some parts of the files on segment one, some on segment 2 etc etc but now the parts can no longer communicate with each other.
So the way to do this is to save/copy the files somewhere else (your computer HD if you have space), partition the external HD (format Mac OSX Extended (journaled)
and copy the files back.

OP
James
Reaction score