Buying a new computer for deaing with large photo files, advise appreciated

Reaction score
I'm a writer and using my mid-2009 MacBook Pro 2.8 GHz, dual core, 8GB, 2- 1TB HDs (optical drive replaced with a HD) for various projects. It has 2- USB 2, SD card reader, 1 mini DisplayPort, Firewire 800 port, and has been absolute workhorse. It still does all I need it to do, but... I just received 80,000 photos on a USB 3 hard drive and doing anything with them is s-l-o-w. Unacceptably slow. I tried breaking them down into separate folders and that is also unacceptably slow.

I think my present Macbook pro will see me through the next couple of years for writing projects, but for dealing with this number of photos, I think I need another computer, I'm just not quite savvy enough to know what to look for.

1. Do I need mainly a lot of RAM?
2. Do I have to have quad core (ups the price a lot)
3. Can I get by with a relatively inexpensive Macbook Air with extra RAM?

I don't want to spend $3,000 if I can find what I need for $1,500. This is specifically for organizing large photo (and possibly in the future video) files.

C

chas_m

That would have been useful to mention, but of course the answer is then the best MacBook Pro you can afford.

RavingMac

Staff member
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
16Gb Mac Mini 2018, 15" MacBook Pro 2012 1 TB SSD
Any mid 2012 and newer MBP should suffice IMO. Your biggest gain will be from the USB-3 ports to access external HD

Slydude

Staff member
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
M1 MacMini 16 GB - Ventura, iPhone 14 Pro Max, 2015 iMac 16 GB Monterey
What will you be doing with these files? What type of files are they and how large are they? If these EW Lrge files and you will be editing them then memory will likely be a concern as well.

OP
T
Reaction score
"I'm a writer and using my mid-2009 MacBook Pro ..." "I think my present Macbook pro will see me through the next couple of years..."

OP
T
Reaction score