Why Apple recommends matched pair memory

B

bigbadandugly

Being an engineer, I needed to know why you Apple is recommending you install the SO-DIMMs in your mini in matched pairs. I found a plausible answer with supporting documentation from Intel and Kingston white papers here:

http://www.techspot.com/vb/topic32762.html

I has to do with the integrated Intel GMA950 video chip/chipset. In a nutshell, data is synchronously sent to the two module memory bank through two channels. In today's age on multi-GHz CPUs, performance limitations lay on the bus speed and the memory speed. Even 667 MHz DDR2 RAM, at the fast end as far as RAM goes, still provides a "bottleneck". However, a bigger "bottleneck" is the memory controller. To alleviate this performance problem, the memory controller uses two channels to transfer data to/from the memory. However, if you only have 1 SO-DIMM installed, the second channel is useless. The peak data bandwidth is calculated as follows:

memory speed x # of bytes transferred per channel x # of channels

or

memory MHz x 8 bytes x # of channels

So, with a single spec SO-DIMM (667 MHz), you get:

667 MHz x 8 x 1 = 5.3 GB/sec

With a pair of SO-DIMMs:

667 MHz x 8 x 2 = 10.6 GB/sec

So peak performance is doubled with a memory module in each slot! According to the whitepapers, the performance improvement can be anywhere from 7-25%.